We warmly welcome you to the

Synchrotron Light Finland 2020

11th FSRUO annual meeting



You may download the meeting poster from here

FSRUO annual meeting gather the synchrotron radiation users’ community in Finland to learn about current and future facility capabilities and the latest user research. The meeting is open for everyone interested in utilizing international large-scale light source facilities in their research.

Keynote speakers:

  • Dr. Johanna Hakanpää (DESY, Germany): “Biodiffraction beamline P11 - paving the way towards PETRA IV during the Covid-19 pandemic”
  • Dr. Peter Amann (Stockholm University, Sweden): “Instrument development for high pressure X-ray photoelectron spectroscopy (HPXPS) and application to catalytic materials”
  • Dr. Noelle Walsh (MAX IV Laboratory, Sweden): “Low Density Matter Science at MAX IV”

Presentations from Finnish research groups

We invite researchers to present their work at the workshop by giving short presentations (10’ + 5’ for questions). We try our best to accommodate a contribution presentation from all the research groups in Finland utilizing synchrotron light in their work but due to the limited number of slots the scientific advisory board reserves the right to select the presentations.

Registration: Free registration by 1.11. here.

Link to the Zoom webinar will be sent to the registered participants on the week before the webinar.


Scientific program (to be announced by week 46)

30.11. Monday 12:00–16:00 (Finnish time, UTC+2)

1.12. Tuesday 10:00–16:00 (Finnish time, UTC+2)


Scientific advisory board

Sari Granroth, University of Turku

Harri Ali-Löytty, Tampere University

Nønne Prisle, University of Oulu

Niina Hakulinen, University of Eastern Finland

René Bès, University of Helsinki

Kirsi Svedström, University of Helsinki


Organizing committee at Tampere University

Harri Ali-Löytty, chairman, This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Markku Hannula

Jesse Saari