Joint Annual Meeting of Finnish Synchrotron Radiation User Organisation (FSRUO) and
Finnish Structural Biology Network (FinnBox)

 in Turku, 4.-5.12.2017

Venue: Arc1, Arcanum, University of Turku


You are warmly welcome to participate in all the sessions! See the program below.


Click here to download the abstract booklet

 Click here to download the program as a PDF file


Poster session, credit points for graduate students


Invited talks:

- Prof. Serguei Molodtsov, European XFEL

- Dr. Harald Reichert, ESRF

- Prof. Derek Logan, MAX IV Laboratory

- Prof. Sarah Butcher, University of Helsinki

- Dr. Zoë Fisher, ESS

- Dr. Tommi Nyrönen, CSC-IT Center for Science

- Dr. Andreas Scherer, Institute for Molecular Medicine Finland

- Dr. Eero Itälä, University of Turku



4.12. Monday

9:00 Registration opens (Arcanum)
9:45 Coffee
  Presentation of European infrastructure programs


Prof. Sarah Butcher (Director of the Instruct-FI steering group) Instruct-ERIC - A pan-European research infrastructure in structural biology


Dr. Tommi Nyrönen (Project Director, CSC - IT Center for Science) ELIXIR - A distributed infrastructure for life-science information


Dr. Andreas Scherer (Project Director, FIMM) EATRIS ERIC - supporting translational research through creation of scientific networks

12:00-13:00 Lunch break  
  Session 1
13:00 Dr. Zoë Fisher (European Spallation Source, Lund) Structural biology using neutrons 
13:45 Prof. Sarah Butcher (University of Helsinki) An introduction to cryoEM and image reconstruction and their use to explore new antiviral drugs at atomic resolution
14:15 Dr. Johanna Hakanpää  (European Molecular Biology Laboratory, Desy, Hamburg) Serial synchrotron crystallography at EMBL PETRA III beamline P14


  Session 2
15:15 Prof. Serguei Molodtsov (European XFEL, Hamburg) Research at the European X-ray free-electron laser (XFEL) facility

Dr. Harald Reichert (European Synchrotron Radiation Facility, ESRF, Grenoble) – Title to be announced later

16:45 Poster session and flash talks  
18:00 FSRUO Annual meeting
19:00 Buffet dinner (Arcanum)

5.12. Tuesday

  Session 3
9:00 Prof. Derek Logan (Lund University, SARomics Biostructures)  Structural diversity of oligomerisation induced inhibition of ribonucleotide reductases
9:45 Dr. Eero Itälä (University of Turku) Can gas-phase experiments explain the chemistry of radiosensitization?
10:15 Prof. Gerrit Groenhof (University  of Jyväskylä) Observe while it happens: catching a photoreceptor in the act with a free electron laser
10:30 Prof. Marko Huttula (University of Oulu) Synchrotron based soft X-ray spectromicroscopy for bio, medical and hard materials characterization
10:45                 Closing the joint meeting
11:00-12:00 Lunch break
  FinnBox Session
12:30 Dr. Helena Taberman  (University of Oxford) Mechanism or X-ray damage? A case study with Xylose isomerase  
13:00 Dr. Anton V. Zavialov  (University of Turku) Structural basis for Acinetobacter baumannii biofilm  formation
13:30 Dr. Ulla Pentikäinen  (University of Turku) What goes wrong in diseases? Applying structural biology  in the investigation of molecular mechanisms of diseases
14:00 Coffee and guided tour in Biocity


  • Download the poster here.


Venue: Arc1, Arcanum, University of Turku
Address: Arcanuminkuja 4 (Vatselankatu 2), 20014 University of Turku

Link to campus map (Arcanum, map code T22) can be found here

Parking at University of Turku campus area: Arcanuminkuja and Assistentinkatu, hourly fee, payed only by mobile phone
Read more:


Scientific advisory committee:

  • Prof. Marko Huttula, University of Oulu
  • Prof. Simo Huotari, University of Helsinki
  • Docent Tommi Kajander, University of Helsinki
  • Dr. Harri Ali-Löytty, Tampere University of Technology
  • Adj. Prof. Tiina Salminen, Åbo Akademi University
  • Prof. Edwin Kukk, University of Turku
  • Adj. Prof. Anastassios Papageorgiou, University of Turku
  • Dr. Sari Granroth, University of Turku