Finnish Synchrotron Radiation User Organisation

We coordinate the Finnish activities that use synchrotron and free-electron-laser light and related tools. Please be in contact with us if you would like to become a new user from within Finland of the corresponding facilities, since we know the best national and international experts for solving your problem. Finland does not have a national synchrotron nor free-electron laser light source, but we use actively the available international laboratories that offer their facilities for our use.   

Research groups in Finland using synchrotron radiation

(This list is certainly not exhaustive. If your group is not listed but you're using synchrotron radiation, please contact us to be added!)

FSRUO board members and secretary:

  • Sari Granroth, chairman, University of Turku
    • e-mail: sasuma ( at )
  • Harri Ali-Löytty, board member, Tampere University
  • Nønne Prisle, board member, University of Oulu
  • Niina Hakulinen, board member, University of Eastern Finland
  • René Bès, board member and secretary, University of Helsinki
    • e-mail: rene.bes (at)
  • Kirsi Svedström, board member, University of Helsinki

Key facts about FSRUO:

  • A non-profit organisation that coordinates and promotes Finnish activities to use synchrotron light sources and free-electron lasers.
  • Promotes and represents interdisciplinary basic and applied scientific research that use large-scale light sources.
  • Provides a forum for information exchange and collaboration between light sources, researchers affiliated with Finnish institutions, and companies who can benefit from the use of large-scale light sources.
  • Can apply for and collect funding for organising meetings, workshops, courses, invited visits of lecturers and experts, and for facilitating synchrotron related infrastructure development and data collection.
  • Can act as the coordinator in the interactions of our national users, international light sources, Finnish government, and funding agencies when considering large-scale infrastructure and research strategies.
  • The Board of FSRUO appoints a national representative to corresponding international bodies.
  • Was founded in Helsinki on Nov. 12th, 2009 by members from the Universities of Helsinki, Oulu, Turku and the Tampere University of Technology.

We invite all researchers in Finland whose work is related to synchrotron radiation or who consider its use in future to join FSRUO. The membership is free of charge.